Skip to Main navigation Skip to Left navigation Skip to Main content Skip to Footer

University of Minnesota Extension

Extension > Regional Sustainable Development Partnerships > Southeast > About the Southeast region

Print Icon Email Icon Share Icon

About the Southeast region

The Southeast Regional Sustainable Development Partnership (SE RSDP) has been serving the region since 1997. The originating board of citizens named this partnership, "The Experiment in Rural Cooperation," to signify that the structure of our work--creating meaningful collaborations between community and University partners--and our projects to promote sustainable development are forward-thinking experiments.
View our SE Partnership Brochure (PDF).

In terms of Minnesota ecological land classifications, SE RSDP/ERC encompasses most of the Mississippi River Blufflands, the Rochester Plateau, the Oak Savanna, and now takes in some of the Big Woods and Minnesota River Prairie, as we loosen our boundaries to be available to serve communities west of our traditional service area.

The Southeast region generally includes but is not strictly limited to the following counties: Blue Earth, Faribault, Dodge, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, LeSueur, Mower, Nicollet, Olmsted, Fillmore, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, and Winona.

Our mission is to work with citizens in southeastern Minnesota to create and sustain healthy ecosystems, strong local economies and vibrant, self-reliant communities. We support projects that demonstrate public purpose and are committed to building partnerships that connect the citizens of southeastern Minnesota to local assets and the educational, research and outreach resources of the University of Minnesota.

We are committed to:

  • © Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy