Skip to Main navigation Skip to Left navigation Skip to Main content Skip to Footer

University of Minnesota Extension

Extension > Regional Sustainable Development Partnerships > Southwest > About the Southwest region

Print Icon Email Icon Share Icon

About the Southwest region

The Southwest Minnesota Sustainable Development Partnership is a citizen-driven Board of Directors working with citizens in the region to create and sustain healthy ecosystems; strong local economies; and vibrant, self-reliant communities. Its mission--launching education and research that help people understand and achieve sustainability in their region--supports projects that demonstrate public purpose and builds partnerships with citizens of the region and links these projects to local assets and University of Minnesota research and educational resources.

The Southwest region generally includes though is not strictly limited to activities in the following counties:

  • Big Stone
  • Brown
  • Chippewa
  • Cottonwood
  • Douglas
  • Grant
  • Jackson
  • Kandiyohi
  • Lac qui Parle
  • Lincoln
  • Lyon
  • Martin
  • McLeod
  • Meeker
  • Murray
  • Nobles
  • Pipestone
  • Pope
  • Redwood
  • Sibley
  • Renville
  • Rock
  • Stevens
  • Swift
  • Traverse
  • Watonwan
  • Yellow Medicine

Historical note and invitation. The Southwest Regional Sustainable Development Partnership has been serving rural Minnesota for more than a decade. From 1998 through 2011, the West Central Partnership operated as a 12 county region. The geographic region was expanded in 2012 and the program renamed the Southwest Partnership. New members of the Board of Directors were elected to represent the newly included counties.

Please contact us with ideas and suggestions you may have.

  • © Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy