Skip to Main navigation Skip to Left navigation Skip to Main content Skip to Footer

University of Minnesota Extension
www.extension.umn.edu
612-624-1222
We're looking for your feedback on the Extension website. Please take our survey.

Extension > Garden > Master Gardener > For volunteers > State Advisory Board

State Advisory Board

The Extension Master Gardener State Advisory Board provides input to the state office to inform governing policies for the program. The Board meets 4 times a year and has 14 Master Gardener volunteers representing Minnesota Extension Regions: 6 from the Central region and 2 each from the SE, SW, NE and NW regions. Staff members include: the program director, the program volunteer center coordinator, the program education manager, the program project manager, a county Extension Master Gardener coordinator, and an Extension regional director.

Adopted in 2012, the board operates under the following State Advisory Board Policies and Procedures.

Map of regions (614 K PDF)

2017 State Advisory Board application (190 K DOC)

board members

2016-2017 Master Gardener State Advisory Board

2017 Board roster

Chair: Tom Welch : Carver-Scott Counties : 952-443-1929 : thomasbwelch@gmail.com

Vice chair: Mary Heie : Anoka County : 763-421-3512 : heiem@comcast.net

Secretary: Carol Rethemeier : Otter Tail East County : 218-346-2043 : treth@eot.com

Central region representatives

Mary Heie (18): Anoka County : 763-421-3512 : heiem@comcast.net

Melinda Ludwiczak (17) : Hennepin County : 612-968-6271 : melindalud@gmail.com

Howard Markus (17) : Washington County : 651-731-8114 : bluesky11@comcast.net

Deb Revier (19) : Hennepin County : 612-799-0440 : drevier@comcast.net

Julie Schmidt (19) : Sherburne County : 320-267-5886 : jschmidt525@msn.com

Tom Welch (18) : Carver-Scott Counties : 952-443-1929 : thomasbwelch@gmail.com

Northeast region representatives

Diane Dorr-Ruzin (18) : Crow Wing County : 612-532-8122 : ddruzin@crosslake.net

Tim Panchot (19) : Crow Wing County: 612-876 -0396 : timothypanchot@gmail.com

Northwest region representatives

Carol Rethemeier (17) : Otter Tail County - East : 218-346-2043 : trethm@eot.com

John Stone (19) : Douglas County : 320-491-4405 : stonej1@gctel.net

Southeast representatives

Karen O’Rourke (19) : Goodhue County : 651-388-3348 : korourke3348@gmail.com

Paula Zollman (17) : Olmstead County: 507-254-1643 : zollman.paula@mayo.edu

Southwest representatives

Bonita Kallestad (17) : Kandiyohi County : 320-354-4750 : john_kallestad@msn.com

Becky West (18) : Kandiyohi : 320-354-5373 : pharmbw@tds.net

Staff representatives

Ben Anderson : Regional Director; Northwest : 218-236-2004 : and01488@umn.edu

Beth Berlin : Extension Educator, Coordinator : Stearns and Benton Counties : 320-255-6169 : adam0062@umn.edu

Dalicia Davis : State Office – Background Check Project Manager : 612-624-4541 : dndavis@umn.edu

Jackie Froemming : State Office – Extension Educator : 218-828-2323 : froem022@umn.edu

Diane Greiwe : State Office - Volunteer Center Coordinator : 612-625-9864 : dhgreiwe@umn.edu

Tim Kenny : State Office - Director : 612-301-3482 : kenny003@umn.edu

Andrea Rice : State Office - Education Specialist : 240-285-4999 : amrice@umn.edu

Kathy Zuzek : State Office - Extension Educator : 651-480-7739 : zuzek001@umn.edu

  • © Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy