Skip to Main navigation Skip to Left navigation Skip to Main content Skip to Footer

University of Minnesota Extension
www.extension.umn.edu
612-624-1222

Extension > Garden > Master Gardener > For volunteers > State Advisory Board

State Advisory Board

The Extension Master Gardener State Advisory Board provides input to the state office to inform governing policies for the program. The Board meets 4 times a year and has 14 Master Gardener volunteers representing Minnesota Extension Regions: 6 from the Central region and 2 each from the SE, SW, NE and NW regions. Staff members include: the program director, the program volunteer center coordinator, the program education manager, the program project manager, a county Extension Master Gardener coordinator, and an Extension regional director.

Adopted in 2012, the board operates under the following State Advisory Board Policies and Procedures.

Map of regions (345 K PDF)

2018 State Advisory Board application (190 K DOC)

board members

2017-2018 Master Gardener State Advisory Board

2017 Board roster

Chair: Mary Heie : Anoka County : 763-421-3512 : heiem@comcast.net

Vice chair: John Stone (19) : Douglas County : 320-491-4405 : stonej1@gctel.net

Secretary: Deb Revier (19) : Hennepin County : 612-799-0440 : drevier@comcast.net

Central region representatives

Bill Cook (20): Stearns County : 320-229-7602 : wmcook@stcloudstate.edu

Mary Heie (18): Anoka County : 763-421-3512 : heiem@comcast.net

Deb Revier (19) : Hennepin County : 612-799-0440 : drevier@comcast.net

Julie Schmidt (19) : Sherburne County : 320-267-5886 : jschmidt525@msn.com

Karen Sutherland (20) : Wright County : 651-698-2284 : suther@acm.org

Tom Welch (18) : Carver-Scott Counties : 952-443-1929 : thomasbwelch@gmail.com

Northeast region representatives

Diane Dorr-Ruzin (18) : Crow Wing County : 612-532-8122 : ddruzin@crosslake.net

Tim Panchot (19) : Crow Wing County: 612-876 -0396 : timothypanchot@gmail.com

Northwest region representatives

Kyle Carolyn Schulz (20) : Wadena County : 218-837-5728 : kyleschulz@gmail.com

John Stone (19) : Douglas County : 320-491-4405 : stonej1@gctel.net

Southeast region representatives

Tammy Ness (20) : LeSueur County: 952-378-0995 : farmersmarketclub@yahoo.com

Karen O’Rourke (19) : Goodhue County : 651-388-3348 : korourke3348@gmail.com

Southwest region representatives

Jill Stevens (20) : Swift County : 320-760-7362 : kittykatz99@hotmail.com

Becky West (18) : Kandiyohi : 320-354-5373 : pharmbw@tds.net

Staff representatives

Ben Anderson : Regional Director; Northwest : 218-236-2004 : and01488@umn.edu

Beth Berlin : Extension Educator, Coordinator : Stearns and Benton Counties : 320-255-6169 : adam0062@umn.edu

Dalicia Davis : State Office – Program/Project Specialist : 612-624-4541 : dndavis@umn.edu

Jackie Froemming : State Office – Extension Educator : 218-828-2323 : froem022@umn.edu

Michelle Grabowski : State Office - Extension Educator : 651-319-2551 : magrabow@umn.edu

Diane Greiwe : State Office - Volunteer Center Coordinator : 612-625-9864 : dhgreiwe@umn.edu

Tim Kenny : State Office - Director : 612-301-3482 : kenny003@umn.edu

Christy Marsden : State Office - Master Gardener Extension Educator & Education Manager : 612-301-3926 : cmarsden@umn.edu

  • © Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy