Skip to Main navigation Skip to Left navigation Skip to Main content Skip to Footer

University of Minnesota Extension

Extension > Extension history > Extension's Beginnings

Print Icon Email Icon Share Icon

Extension's Beginnings

Hatch Act

Hatch Act funds are provided for agricultural research on an annual basis to the State Agricultural Experiment Stations (SAES's) which were established under the direction of the college or university or agricultural departments of the college or university in each State in accordance with the act approved July 2, 1862 (7 U.S.C. 301 et seq.); or such other substantially equivalent arrangements as any State shall determine.

Morrill Act

The original Morrill Act allowed for the creation of land grant colleges and universities. It was signed into law by President Abraham Lincoln on July 2, 1862.

Smith-Lever Act

The Smith-Lever Act of 1914 establishes the Cooperative Extension Service and provides federal funds for cooperative extension activities. The act requires that states provide a 100% match from non-federal resources. The act also authorizes special extension projects under section 3(d). Current projects funded under this authority include the Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program, Farm Safety, Integrated Pest Management, and Children, Youth and Families at Risk.

Extension Division Established in Minnesota, 1909

An Act to create and maintain a division of agriculture extension and home education in the department of agriculture of the University of Minnesota, to provide for the publication and distribution of home education bulletins and appropriating money therefore.

  • © Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy